Minutes of the Forty Sixth Annual General Meeting of the Society held at

7.30 p.m. on Monday 13th November 2017 in the Wolfson Lecture Theatre, Churchill College, Storey's Way, Cambridge



Cambridge Society for the Application of Research

To approve the minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 14th November 2016
Approved (proposed by Rod Kirkby, seconded by Eddie Powell)

2) Matters arising

None raised

3) To receive and adopt the President's Annual Report 2016 – 2017 (see paper)

The President gave a brief summary of the society's good state of affairs, including improvements in the website and engagement with member feedback.

4) To elect/re-elect membership of Council. The following are proposed by the existing Council:

Edward Briffa

Dr Paul Coxon

Dr Robin Catchpole

Professor Xiang Zhang

Rod Kirkby

Professor Sir Mike Gregory CBE FREng President

Dr Valerie Anderson Vice-President

Andrew Shepherd Programme Secretary

Mrs Sue McMeekin Honorary Treasurer

Dr Camilla Benfield Secretary to Council

John Grieve Visits Secretary

Jane Baker Outreach and Awards Secretary

Barry Thompson Membership Secretary

Alex Bates, representative of BlueSci (ex-officio, in attendance)

Re-elected as above

5) To receive the accounts of the Society (see paper)

The membership raised no queries.

- 6) To appoint a Scrutineer in place of auditors: Mr Robin Bligh has offered himself for re-election Robin Bligh to be re-elected as scrutineer
- 7) Any other business

Honorary membership was conferred on Mr Richard and Mrs Anne King and on Professor David Adamson in a brief ceremony after the AGM, and their long-standing support of CSAR was gratefully acknowledged.

13 November 2017