2016 AGM and Honorary Membership awards

16th Nov 2016

Our Annunal General Meeting was held on 14th November 2016. Amongst other items on the agenda were the re-election of council members (listed below), and the presentation of Honorary Membership to Mr Robin Bligh.

The President, Sir David Wallace said:

"Robin Bligh has been on the Council of CSAR for probably more than thirty years – our archive isn’t complete enough for us to be definitive! He was initially ‘Corporate Secretary’ and latterly Honorary Treasurer. As well as producing annual accounts, he was successful in registering the society as a charity with the Charity Commission and subsequently for keeping us in its good books. As a result, to date almost £6000 has been recovered from HMRC through reclaiming Gift Aid on donations. He retired in 2015, with CSAR finances in their best state ever.

In his wider contributions as a member of Council, he was always thoughtful, a source of invaluable wisdom and completely committed to the well-being of the Society. It gives me the greatest of pleasure on behalf of Cambridge Society for the Application of Research to admit Robin Bligh as an Honorary Member."

2016 Elected members of CSAR Council

Sir David Wallace CBE FRS FREng President

Dr Valerie Anderson Vice-President

Dr Camilla Benfield Secretary to Council

Dr Eddie Powell Honorary Treasurer

Andrew Shepherd Programme Secretary

John Grieve Visits Secretary

Jane Baker Outreach and Awards Secretary

Barry Thompson Membership Secretary

Professor David Adamson

Dr Ilesh Bidd

Dr Robin Catchpole

Rod Kirkby

Professor Lawrence Sherman

Edward Briffa

Dr Paul Coxon

Professor Xiang Zhang

Alex Bates, representative of BlueSci (ex-officio, in attendance)

VACANCY representative of UoC Science & Ideas Festivals (ex-officio,in attendance)