Lewis Owen

4th year student with The Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy

Metallurgy often assumes that mixing multiple types of atoms in an alloy results in a random arrangement. This is an over-simplification and ignores many of the more subtle effects that occur due to local variations. My work is focused on developing a technique called total scattering for the analysis of alloys. Using this technique we can build up a description of a material’s structure as if sitting on an atom. By understanding local structure and how it affects properties, we can start to explain observed physical phenomena and, importantly, exploit this knowledge in the design of new alloys.

Other 2017 award winners

Saif Ahmad

Michael Coto

Petro Giannaros

Michael Hart

Edmund Kay

Sarah Madden

Advait Sarkar

Himansha Singh

Andrea Strakova

Edward Tan

Teng Zhao

Previous award winners

Find out about the winners awarded in previous years: