Petro Giannaros

4th year student with the Department of Engineering.

(2020): Petros Giannaros was awarded the CSAR Award in 2017 during his 4th and final year of his PhD. His doctoral research focused on the development of autonomic self-healing concrete using microencapsulated healing agents which culminated in a large-scale field trial with the proposed technology. Petros currently works as a Civil-Structural Engineer for a global engineering design firm in Vancouver, Canada. He recently obtained his Professional Engineer designation and has worked on a variety of hydroelectric, bridge, highway, rail, industrial and marine projects. Petros continues to pursue research opportunities while working in industry. He recently co-authored a paper on the seismic evaluation of an old concrete arch dam. The associated project is in the running for the Association of Consulting Engineering Companies of British Columbia (ACEC-BC) 2020 Award for Engineering Excellence.

Other 2017 award winners

Saif Ahmad

Michael Coto

Michael Hart

Edmund Kay

Sarah Madden

Lewis Owen

Advait Sarkar

Himansha Singh

Andrea Strakova

Edward Tan

Teng Zhao

Previous award winners

Find out about the winners awarded in previous years: