Teng Zhao

3rd year student with The Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy

How could batteries fuel the next revolution in communication and transportation systems? By exploring new materials and chemistry, my research is focused on a new type of high energy density lithium-sulphur batteries. To make them practical, a chemically functional layer with a villi-like nano-architecture has been proposed to trap and reuse the dissolved active materials during battery charging and discharging. By taking inspiration from the natural world, I am coming up with new solutions that I hope will accelerate the development of next-generation batteries. My first publication is in the top 5% of all research outputs ever tracked by Altmetric.

Other 2017 award winners

Saif Ahmad

Michael Coto

Petro Giannaros

Michael Hart

Edmund Kay

Sarah Madden

Lewis Owen

Advait Sarkar

Himansha Singh

Andrea Strakova

Edward Tan

Previous award winners

Find out about the winners awarded in previous years: