Tiesheng Wang

Second year student in the Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy

I am working on functional materials with interpenetrating structures that can benefit sensing, energy storage, and catalysis. Recently, I have developed a free standing, flexible supercapacitor electrode from an interpenetration of an electrically conductive polymer and an ionically conductive polymer (a.k.a. candy cane supercapacitor). Together with my supervisor, Stoyan K. Smoukov and a master student, Kara Fong, we have showed the material not only significantly increase the electrochemical active interface for storing charge but also enhance the mechanical robustness and long-term cycling stability. We are working with Cambridge Enterprise (ref: Smo-3466-1) to exploit the commercial aspect of the invention.


Tiesheng Wang was interviewed about his research at the American Chemical Society national conference in New Orleans

The related press releases are here:

Other 2018 award winners

Luca Peruzzotti-Jametti

Jan Lyczakowski

Craig Pearson

Oliver Taherzadeh

Elizabeth Moore

Alexander Avramenko

Vera Graup

Chen Jiang

Joachim Dias

Previous award winners

Find out about the winners awarded in previous years: