Taylor Uekert

2nd year student in Chemistry and NanoDTC

Did you know that 150 million tons of plastic are thrown away every year? This represents not only a severe environmental hazard, but also a waste of valuable resources. My research addresses this growing plastic challenge via a catalytic method for transforming waste into hydrogen fuel. Despite the simplicity of the process – it only requires plastic, water, a photocatalyst and the energy in sunlight to make hydrogen – it is still an emerging, lab-scale technology. I am working on optimizing and up-scaling this process so that we can help turn plastic waste into useful products in a sustainable and economic way.

The photo shows the award being collected on behalf of Taylor Uekert.

Other 2019 award winners

Sean Chia

Yeonsik Choi

Bethany Connolly

Magda Gerigk

Garazi Gomez De Segura Solay

Carol Ibe

Marina Konstantatou

Samer Kurdi

Yuanyuan Liu

Veselina Petrova

Sakthy Selvakumaran

Previous award winners

Find out about the winners awarded in previous years: