Hugo Poplimont

Physiology, Development and Neuroscience

Diseases associated with chronic inflammation are the most significant cause of death, according to the World Health Organisation. During my research project, I focused on a hallmark of inflammation: the accumulation of a type of immune cells, called neutrophils, at sites of injury. I discovered a new molecular mechanism driving dense accumulation of neutrophils during inflammation. Specifically, I showed that close communication between neutrophils clustering at the wound, through special molecules called ‘connexins’, is important for transmission of damage sensing and escalation of the response. This molecular mechanism may serve as potential target for therapeutic interventions in neutrophil-dependent inflammatory diseases.

Other 2020 award winners

David Brossault

Eleanor Brown

Jenna Rose DiRito

Francisco Huhn

Nabila Idris

Lachlan Jardine

Iek Man Lei

Theodor Lundberg

Dhruv Panchal

Tianren Yang

Previous award winners

Find out about the winners awarded in previous years: